Day 2 – Get er done! 10/26/13

Driving through Oregon is TORTURE! Not only is the speed limit 55 with cops everywhere, but is it just me or is the font size smaller on the road signs? Roc sympathizes with Sammy…Because he can’t drive 55 either. The strategy for getting out of Oregon was to just stay behind the Semis. It worked.

And of course, 20 seconds in to California, the speed limit changed to 65 then 70!  Of Course the road didn’t change at all, just the speed limit.  We were so excited to see that speed limit change! Time to get er done in California!

Here’s an interesting fact. 963 k into our road trip and the only wildlife we have seen is 1 live fox, one dead road kill fox and one flat turtle. WTH? I am told on good authority, that Americans are trigger happy and there is no wildlife left. I’ll leave that up to you to confirm on your own.  But I know that going that distance in Canada, the wildlife count would have in in the high teens atleast, with a fantastic variety!  If you have another reason, please be sure to let me know.

Here is another observation, the town of Weed California, does in fact smell like weed! Maybe it was just the patrons at the gas station, but yep, it was skunky.

Here is an update from Roc.

Our lovely 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overlander has performed beyond his expectations.  It is loaded down with probably 500 lbs and gets over 800k per tank, at a very high performance cruising at 65 – 80 miles per hour.

Here is another tid bit I made note of, I saw my first palm tree 1301 k into our trip!  Man I love California! The weather went from -3c in Oregon to +26 in CA! The Sun was hot, the highway speeds were cruising, and I think  I got a bit of a sun burn on my one arm through the window! Lovin it.

Tonight we are hunkered down in the middle of no-wheres-ville.  Plan was to get to Stockton CA, then we thought we would go past it to Lathrop, but that just took 15 minutes. So we thought we would keep going. The jeep said we still had 200k left in the tank so we drove, then noticed our old outdated GPS didn’t show any towns…none…for like ever!  So we did a quick search for gas stations near by and Westley CA showed up. And that’s where we are.  I tried to book on line but the service said they were full. Knowing better (because we own a B&B) I pulled up to the Days inn, and yes they had plenty of rooms!  So that’s where we are.

We went for Mexican Food at Antojitos Mexicanos because it was the only restaurant walking distance to the hotel, besides subway.  We each had a glass of wine that came in an ity bitty bottle ( so cute)  Get this, after just one glass of wine, Roc and I are so exhausted that we have quite the buzz going on!

10-26 a

Tomorrow we hope to get as close to Tecate as we can. I am not sure what time the border opens to be able to get a visa to cross, I think someone said 9a, I hope to find that out. If you know, let me know!  Just comment on this blog. I will check comments! After we cross at Tecate we will head to El Rosario.   I know what you are thinking…Tecate? That’s out of the way. Just go through Tijuana!  But Roc is familiar with the Tecate Border, so that’s where we shall try to go!  Unless he changes his mind.

Surprise Surprise, Roc has driven this whole way! I offered, actually right before he got the speeding ticket, and several times since, but he’s doing great! (for a guy who doesn’t like to drive…maybe he’s found a new love hate relationship thanks to the Jeep!)

10-26 b

 

 

On a side note, I think the bathroom here at the Days Inn was designed for little people.  Roc is only showering half his body tonight!

 

Good Night to all!  Thanks for reading my pink Bubbly Blog.

For those curious, today’s route took us on 97 until weed, then on 5 all the way to Westley.  The gps tried to make us take 99, to get to Stockton, but we didn’t listen! 5 was flying just fine!  We shall hop back on the 5 past LA tomorrow!

 

XOXO Me!

One thought on “Day 2 – Get er done! 10/26/13

Leave a comment