Where is Wally Wobbles?

As a child growing up on a farm in southern Saskatchewan, we spent just as much time playing outside as we did inside. Like any other kid we had lots of toys and board games, but only one toy has remained with me until this very day. Wally Wobbles!

Wally Wobbles

Wally Wobbles

Wally is just a little guy, smaller than your average egg, so it was easy for Wally Wobbles to get misplaced. When I couldn’t find him, a flash of panic would come over me and I would run around the house saying, “Where’s Wally Wobbles? Where’s Wally Wobbles?” Eventually I would find him and tuck him in my pocket, or place him in my new safe spot, where I would forget where that was a week later, and start the whole process over again.

Even just now, when I decided to write about my dear Wally Wobbles, I went to my closet to get him and he wasn’t there! Poof, the flash of panic came over me once again. My face heated up, my heart started racing, then I spotted him. Someone had moved him to an upper shelf to access something behind him. Whew! Flooded with relief, I picked Wally Wobbles up and took a picture of him for this blog.

I felt really connected to Wally. He is such a rebel. He carries a slingshot in his back pocket. A little trouble maker, just like me! Maybe that’s why he was so important to me. He must have been getting in trouble all the time too!

I had never really paid too much attention to Wally, I just now noticed an inscription on his left buttock (if he had a bum) It says, 1973 Hasbro.  Gadzooks! Wally is older than I am!  Woo Hoo! I feel so young again!

I now notice he’s gotten a wee bit scratched up, I guess that’s what happens when you get thrown in pockets with coins and rocks and god knows what else I had in there!

I also do not know if Wally Wobbles was a name I gave him, or if that’s the toy brand name?  Maybe I’ll google it, maybe I won’t. It doesn’t matter. He will always be my Wally Wobbles!

PS: I also have my Hungry Hippos Game too!

hippo

XOXO

Me

This Blog was written for  http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/12/daily-prompt-memento/  :  What was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favorite childhood toy?

16 thoughts on “Where is Wally Wobbles?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: My doll house | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Did I really have a favorite toy? | Rob's Surf Report

  4. Pingback: Bears, Teddy and Otherwise | The Silver Leaf Journal

  5. Pingback: By A Show Of Hands, Who Played With Barbies… That Still Had Their Heads? | Molly Greye

  6. Pingback: Friendly monsters | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a Reply

